Children’s literature Critical View

So I am taking two graduate course right now. The one has to deal with using technology, social media in education and the other is on children’s literature theory. Last night I gave a presentation on a the children’s book “Sitting Bull Remembers” By Ann Turner.

sitting bull

After reading this book I had to apply post colonial theory to it. I realized how oppressing the book could be for Indigenous children, even though it is written with the perspective of an Indigenous person. In “Sitting Bull Remembers” they show Sitting Bull, a famous Indigenous warrior, imprisoned remembering his life before and after first contact. It discusses the Sioux peoples view on colonization. Although there are many messages and illustrations that show European dominance.

After this assignment it really got me thinking. How many times have a read a book to my class and not critically viewed it? Did I really know what hidden curriculum was being taught though this literature? Don’t get me wrong. I have not read obviously racist books to my students but, some books are much more subtle. I was inspired to blog about this because I wondered how many other teachers have never thought about the hidden curriculum. Please let me know if you have ever given this some thought.

 

This entry was posted in ECI831, My Thoughts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Children’s literature Critical View

  1. Yes I think that taking the summer institute really opened my eyes to this. And talking to the division’s aboriginal advocate.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great post Kayla. Moving to TL this year ha really opened my eyes to this phenomena. It is so important to consume media (books, TV, Internet, etc) critically. Sometime just because it is published I think we assume it passes all criteria and is automatically a good source or correct. Media literacy and transliteracy are critical.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. mskbrodner says:

    I’m so glad to hear other teachers know about this. It is crucial because school plays such a lage part in socializing student.

    Like

  4. Gerri says:

    Noithng I could say would give you undue credit for this story.

    Like

Leave a Reply

