Time for the Materials

After last weeks research I decided I needed a few things to start my project. Before going out to purchase all the materials I need. I decided to take a look around my house and ask around. I was able to find a scraper, and a sand block, a paint brush and some plastic to down just from previously painting my bedroom.

20160206_200004_resized   20160206_200553_resized

I then decided to ask around to see if I could save on any other supplies. After explaining to my family my project, my brother explained he had some paint stripper I could use. My dad also said he had some old stain that I could practice with.

20160206_195947_resized

At last I decided I needed to go to Home Depot to get the shade of stain that I wanted. While on this shopping trip I could not just simply get what I needed but, I ended up getting some silicon to. I think my next project will be to redo my tub surround.

20160206_200029_resized

After gathering my supplies I am getting excited about trying all of this stuff out. Next week I will begin my trial project. I want to make sure I am not ruining the furniture I want to actually use before I attempt to fix it. Wish me luck!! 🙂

This entry was posted in Learning Project and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Time for the Materials

  1. thiessendallas says:

    I am looking forward to seeing your before and after pics of the furniture that you stain. If you are caulking your tub, make sure you use a water/dish soap mix to smooth it out with your finger. Most people use just water but you will make a mess if you don’t add soap (tends to stick to your finger). Here is a video of someone re-caulking a tub. I have never taped off an area before but it might be helpful if you have never done it. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pg9-SNpBMkw

    Like

  2. Erin Benjamin says:

    Have you ever been to Mabel and Martha’s on Dewdney? It is my lately find and I am in love with this little vintage furniture/decor store. I know they offer different classes in refurbishing/painting if you’re interested!

    Like

  3. Peggy says:

    As so many times with remixes, I preferred the original, although I have to say it is not music to my taste. Nice tight arrangement and crisp recording, though. And hey, I’m a keen reader, too! Why don’t I get my split second of fame! Although as I’ve admitted elsewhere, I’m here under an alias. The kids have spent the last hour frantically deleting my posts from all their social media; I’m now off to cut them out of my will, and draft a Statutory Declaration to prevent them from disputing it. Th&t;#8217all teach ‘em. Hey, I work for lawyers, and I get a company discount.

    Like

Leave a Reply

