Painting Furniture Class

I want to start off by saying how great it is to have a week off to catch up on everything I seem to be falling behind on. I was even able to make it to a painting furniture class at Real Deals in Regina.

20160217_154554_resized

Shout out to Chalyn who told me about the class. It sucks that she could not have made it as well, but maybe this will help you on what I was able to take away from it.

For the class I needed a piece of furniture. I did not want to use one of the pieces I plan on refinishing because I think I want to use stain instead of plaster paint. So I spent part of my Wednesday asking my family if they had any wooden end tables that they had no use for. My mother  had a beautiful small table that I was able to use. 20160217_154936_resized 20160217_154940_resized

Once I took my piece into Real Deals they guided me to the back room. They had tables set up covered in plastic where people could set their piece to being working. After this the lovely ladies there helped me choose some paint. Next they began talking about what I could do with this piece. Multiple times something called distressing came up. I had no idea what that was so I asked. It is when you paint over top of a colour and then use sandpaper or a sponge to make it look worn or antiqued. When I first heard this I thought of how the “cool” thing to do was where jeans with holes in because they look worn. I have to admit when they showed me some pieces around the store that were distressed I did like the look of them. So I choose a lighter colour paint, ivory cream for the top coat of my table.

Paint Time

So as I was about to start Lisa (one of the ladies who was running the class) showed me how thick to apply the paint and where to start. I asked if I needed to do any sanding previous to applying the paint and she said no. So off I went. My initial reaction was on no what have I done to my others table. I did not like the look of it after one coat of paint. I let it dry and thought well I have started I need to finish. I began painting the second coat. After I had finished I took a step back and really started to like what the piece was looking like. After a couple coats I tried a third and this was not working. The paint needed to dry completely before adding another coat. So I was able to look around at the other ladies pieces and see what a fresh coat of paint can actually do. There were many pieces being done from cupboards to stools to bedroom furniture. It was amazing to see the variety of options that could be done. Before leaving to let the paint really dry, I took a couple pictures of my table after two coats of paint. What do you all think?

20160217_172109_resized20160217_172113_resized

This entry was posted in Learning Project and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Painting Furniture Class

  1. ashleypmurray says:

    I love Real Deals! They have such cute stuff. I didn’t know they offered classes. Looks good!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kristina Boutilier says:

    I think my mom has that same end table! I really like how it turned out with that colour. I have some old wooden furniture I’d like to re-finish. I hadnt heard of real deals before. Thanks for sharing, maybe I’ll see you in there sometime!

    Like

  3. mskbrodner says:

    It is a cute little decor shop. I am excited to see how it looks once I try distressing it!

    Like

  4. carlacoop1 says:

    I have never been there, but will be sure to go now! I have furniture that I want to make over too! So glad you posted this, it looks great!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. missnreeve says:

    I had no idea they offered classes! I will be finding one to sign up for myself. Your table looks fantastic! Looking forward to seeing what you do next.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. thiessendallas says:

    Your tables look great! I also like how you ventured into the community to help you with your project. Sometimes getting help first hand or seeing other furniture in person would be more beneficial than watching a “how to” youtube video. Great Work!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Erin Benjamin says:

    What kind of paint did you use for this?

    Like

Leave a Reply

