Stain Stripping

I thought after exploring YouTube, connecting with the community and picking up the materials, it was about time I give my first step a try. I choose to work on my coffee table. I decide that if I messed it, I could part with this piece and I would be able to get over it fairly quickly. My other piece is an antique and I would have been more upset about it if I messed it up. So I cleared out a space in my spare room and set down some plastic.  I wanted to take pictures along the way to show my progress.

20160303_203004 After reading the label of the stain remover I realized it said I should do this in a ventilated room. So I opened the window and hoped that would be okay. I also decided I should wear gloves just in case. Once everything was set up I had the idea of video taping what I was doing. That way if I did mess up, I could review what I did and find the mistakes. So here is my first post of a video online ever. (let me know in the comments if you know of any editing sites where I can cut parts of the videos out or combine two together….Also found out I need to title the video before publishing it on Youtube. )

After I left the coffee table sit for 20 minutes. I took a look and I wasn’t sure if the stain had actually been stripped off or not. This could have been due to the lighting. I tried scrapping it off anyways. (Here is attempt two at posting a video, it has a name this time)

So after I scrapped off all of the stripper and took a step back I realized that it had worked. The top looked much lighter than the legs. I decided I needed to keep going then. I took off the coffee tables top because it opens up. I then began applying the paint stripper to the bottom half of the table. After 20 minutes I scrapped off the stripper from the bottom. I could not tell a difference once I was finished. I hope this was because I no longer had that beginning reference point.

20160303_212144

20160303_221159

Now I have to make a decision. Do I strip the stain off my other piece or do I follow the whole process through on this coffee table?

This entry was posted in Learning Project and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Stain Stripping

  1. thiessendallas says:

    I like the idea of posting videos, it is great to watch your progress. If it was up to me, I would probably finish the top piece from start to finish just in case you find something that works/doesn’t work. Great work!

    Like

  2. mskbrodner says:

    Thanks, I think I will take your advice and try completing this piece

    Like

  3. Louise says:

    The Ravens have averaged 310 yards per game passing through the first 4 weeks of the season. They are using a very agressive vertical passing attack, and are no longer the ground and pound teams that many are acctousmed to. It’s almost as though John Harbaugh realized what is necessary to get to a Super Bowl after coming close so many times.

    Like

Leave a Reply

