Posting Your Kids Online

So I want to start with I do not have kids, so I cannot fully understand what it is like to be a parent. I did want to ask some questions to those parents out there about sharing their kids online. I had someone ask me my opinion on what I think about people sharing their kids. My first instinct was I think it is a good thing if the parent chooses. There are some aspects to sharing that parents should be careful of but for the most part I think it is a good thing. She then mentioned about digital footprint and it got me thinking.

We are going into an age where peoples entire lives from birth to death are online. Many people post about their children from until they allow their child to have their own facebook account, then everything is tagged to that name. These people have the potential that every part of their childhood to adulthood is online permanently. This could be a very interesting in regards to memories and watching the growth of this person. Could this affect them later on in life. I personally have seen many parents post about kids attitudes, criminal activity, their frustrations, etc. All these post may not look that great when these kids grow up. What if your child grows up and in high school a classmate finds a quick video of a temper tantrum they had when they were a kid? Could this be detrimental to your child’s self esteem if the whole school sees this? Could silly parent post affect future jobs for their child? Is this just another question of being careful what we put online? Do you think things that are posted by parents could potentially affect their kids in the future?

So I had to edit this post an include this article. It was ironic that after I had this discussion my class wanted me to read an article about online rules with posting on social media. It is a good read take a look.

This entry was posted in ECI831 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Posting Your Kids Online

  1. I do think that we need to be careful about what we post, in terms of our children. As a parent, it is important to me that I do not post anything that will hinder their identity in the future.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. thiessendallas says:

    I agree with Adam, if you are posting something of your child online you have to think about how it could effect them later on in life. I did a similar post and came across a quote: “if you wouldn’t post that picture on the front page of the newspaper, then you shouldn’t post it online” and newspapers get outdated and tossed away but anything posted online is there forever. Definitely something to think about.

    Like

Leave a Reply

