Sharing is Caring…is it online?

The topic of sharing online is a controversy that many people struggle with. How much to I put online? Is it fair to share kids pictures and work? People’s digital footprints are shaped by the different ways people answer these questions and more. These footprints are crucial to ones reputation. A blog on teachershub.com gives an interesting quote. “If you aren’t controlling who you are online, some else is or will.” Is this true? If we are make the choice not to share, are other people shaping our identities? For the amount of fake Facebook accounts, one could argue that this is totally true. The worst part about having a fake account online is that it does not go away. It will simply slid down the google feed the less people use it. Digital footprints are more like permanent tattoos argues Juan Enriquez. He discusses how are permanent, immortal and including lots of data.

complete-body-tattoo-designs-28

Credited to Tattoo Easily

So is leaving our mark a good thing? All of our data we put out online, will be accessible always. That is a whole lot of data when we consider our youth are being posted online even as they experience their first days in this world. All of their lives are uploaded. Is this a good thing? Will this affect our children’s future? This could be argued either way. I think we need to look at what the kid wants and use that not so common “common sense”. Posting videos of temper tantrums of your kids could be detrimental to them in their futures but, positive things could help market them to peers or future employers. It goes back to taking control of your digital foot print. Some students find sharing there work motivating. The public audience pushes them to achieve more and be better. Even young children are excited to share online!

 

So is sharing photos and work really caring? Is it a positive thing that we can watch our youth grow and change online? Is there anything we can do about it?

 

 

This entry was posted in ECI830 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Sharing is Caring…is it online?

  1. ashleypmurray says:

    You questions in regards to the fake accounts had me thinking about Alec and all the fake accounts that he has to deal with. It’s crazy to think that someone who seems to have control of his accounts still has problems with fraud. We have to wonder if we can even protect ourselves when we share online. Alec has a very large public presence on social media but it’s all positive (at least on his real accounts). He has chosen to share and be public to help teach others and share. I am always impressed with the fact that he hasn’t made his account private yet because of all the problems he has had. I like that it hasn’t deterred him from sharing. I do think that when we have our accounts as public ones we need to be mindful of what we are sharing about ourselves, our family and in our students (if we use it for work). I think that sharing online can provide so many different opportunities to connect and share with others in positive ways. I have learned that twitter is a great way to connect and learn from others. I had always stayed away from Twitter because I didn’t like the idea of a public account, but used for the right purposes it provides so many learning opportunities. I think we need to teach our students to be mindful of what they are sharing as well.

    Liked by 1 person

    • mskbrodner says:

      You are totally right about Alec and his troubles because he is so public. I feel Alec has so much positive data online that it is more evidence to prove an account is not him. Especially when someone is putting negative things out there. His presences has been around online for a while. I don’t know if that makes a difference or not but I thought it was worth noting.

      As for public accounts. You are right on. We must be mindful of what we share and teach others to do so. Having a public account is not bad. It leads to so many opportunities if used correctly.

      Thanks for the comment Ashley 🙂

      Like

  2. Pingback: The Time Is Now…We need to educate our students about sharing | Justine Stephanson-Kyle's Blog

  3. Great post Kayla! I really liked all of the questions that you posed throughout your blog post this week. I think educators need to asking themselves so many of those questions. I have a classroom blog and each student has their own blog as well. Teachers need to be mindful of what work students will share online and what they are going to blog about. I want to build a positive online identity for my students as everything they share is adding to their digital footprint. All of their posts have to be improved by me before they become public for everyone else to see. That is one of the ways I help manage all of my students accounts so I don’t miss a post. Parents also need to be educated about their posts add to their child’s footprint. As you mentioned “Posting videos of temper tantrums of your kids could be be detrimental to them in their futures but, positive things could help market them to peers or future employers.” Teachers and parents need to work as a team to teach about being good citizens on and offline.

    Liked by 1 person

    • mskbrodner says:

      I like how you help monitor your students’ post. It is important to have the conversations with students and parents about being digital citizens.

      Like

      • Thanks Kayla! If I have time I try to call my students up to my computer when I am going through the posts so we can have conversations about what they wrote about. Sometimes if the day is busy I go through them when I am at home. I agree conversations need to occur between students and parents!

        Like

  4. I appreciated your balanced approach to this week’s topic, Kayla. You asked a myriad of excellent questions in regards to sharing online and whether it is appropriate or not. I always ask myself what to post and what not to post, particularly in regards to my classroom and students. I always align myself with a more cautious approach, and in the end, not posting anything just in case some parents would be upset about their child’s online identity. This is probably not the best route to take, but it would be best for us to help students (and ourselves!) develop our own online identity online. If we don’t, someone else will (just like you quoted)! I feel as though all your questions have brought up so many more questions for myself and my own ideas about sharing online. Thanks for the great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Well said Kayla! Your question is leaving a mark a good thing? Is an important one for us to consider. What are the consequences of not leaving a digital impression?

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Great post – I agree with Stephanie – what can and will be the consequences of not leaving a “positive” digital impression? I think it is so important to drill this into our kids – that these footprints will last forever – they are not footprints on the beach that will be washed away. As a kid I never had these worries – there might be the odd story out there but it eventually went away – online items never do.

    Liked by 1 person

    • mskbrodner says:

      That is so true. It’s a matter of balance. We have the ability to shape and edit our permanent digital footprint. Let’s make sure we create one we are proud of.

      Like

  7. Hester says:

    So true. Honesty and everything reiezncgod.

    Like

  8. Lettie says:

    That’s an ineiognus way of thinking about it.

    Like

  9. Adele says:

    I am very happy to see the guidance given for filling Saral II and really filing the form has become sipBme.lut I am not clear about submitting F-16 form, that is, is it to be submitted along with Saral II or not?

    Like

Leave a Reply

